WED - FRI: 11AM-5PM SAT: 12PM-4PM
WED - FRI: 11AM-5PM SAT: 12PM-4PM
Chicago Artists Coalition helps people connect with opportunities including calls for artists, jobs, grants, and art advising

Call For

Artists

Fixed
Visual Art ,
submitted by
Lauren Bayer

2023 Annual GAS Conference

2023 Annual GAS Conference

Detroit, Michigan, USA

June 7-10, 2023

 

Turn on the Motown and get into gear—we are headed to Detroit, Michigan, USA, for the 2023 Annual GAS Conference. From the city’s world-class Cultural District of museums, dining, music, and entertainment to the underground, authentic, and resourceful arts scene active throughout their evolving community, the Motor City offers a unique glimpse into the history and future of American innovation. 

For our next GAS Conference, we will focus on the community, collaboration, and crossover that are so prevalent in Detroit. We invite you to share your experiences and expertise in support of GAS’s mission to connect, inspire, and empower all facets of the global glass community.

TIMELINE:

  • June 8 - Proposal Applications Open
  • June 22 - Proposal Info Session #1
  • July 6 - Proposal Info Session #2
  • July 17 - Proposal Applications Close
  • August - Proposal Review Period
  • September - Notification of Acceptance 
  • October - First Round of Presenters Announced
  • November - Conference Passes On Sale
  • December - Exhibition + Scholarship Applications Open
  • March 2023 - Full Conference Schedule Announced
  • May 2023 - Last Chance to Purchase Tickets Online
  • June 2023 - Conference Begins!

PRESENTING AT DETROIT 2023

Are you an artist, educator, curator, or researcher with an idea for a diverse and engaging presentation? Do you have a concept for a demo, lecmo, lecture, panel, film, or performance? Submit your proposal to showcase or explore any of the following topics:

  • Techniques + collaborations in all areas of glass
  • Career development or involvement in the glass community
  • Making from around the world and underrepresented communities
  • Current trends, ideas, or issues related to glass making, study, or community
  • Artists or organizations focus on social justice in their practice, including Voting Rights, Climate Justice, Healthcare, Refugee Crisis, Racial Injustice, Income Gap, Gun Violence, Gender Inequality, Hunger + Food Insecurity, LGBTQ Oppression, Disability Rights + Accessibility



WHAT’S POSSIBLE IN DETROIT

Each conference location features a unique array of opportunities and challenges based on who our partners are. For the Detroit conference, we will be hosting presentations at the Russell Industrial Center and the College for Creative Studies

In addition to these venues, we will also be working with many of Detroit’s other cultural organizations to host special events, exhibitions, activities, and more. Potential venues and partners include Michigan Glass Project, Urban Pheasant, Habatat Galleries, Henry Ford Museum, Detroit Institute of Arts, The Charles H. Wright Museum of African American History, and more. 

Have an interesting idea but not sure if it will work? Reach out to us to start a conversation at events@glassart.org. There are lots of things that we can make happen if we start planning for them early. 



SUBMITTING YOUR PROPOSAL

Proposals must be submitted via Submittable by July 17, 2022, at 11:59 pm PDT in English, and all presentations should be given in English unless otherwise approved. Each proposal must be complete and instructions must be followed fully in order to be considered. For full details, please see our Presentation + Proposal Guide. 

DOWNLOAD THE PROPOSAL GUIDE:  2023_Presentation_Proposal_Guidelines.docx

START YOUR SUBMITTABLE APPLICATION: https://glassart.submittable.c... one of our two upcoming Proposal Informational Sessions to connect with our team for tips on putting together a good proposal and the opportunity to ask any questions you might have. 

  • Wednesday, June 22 at 3pm PDT | 6pm EDT | 11pm BST | 7am JST (Thursday)
  • Wednesday, July 6 at 7am PDT | 10am EDT | 3pm BST | 11pm JST

For additional questions, contact us via email at events@glassart.org or by phone at +1 (206) 382-1305

Details
Deadline: 07.14.2022
Contact
Name: Mae Quach
Email: info@glassart.org
Address: 700 NW 42nd Street, Seattle, WA 91807
Phone: 206-382-1305